Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Atlantic Canada

Atlantic Canada is made up of the four most eastern Canadian provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador and Prince Edward Island. Over 2.3 million people call Atlantic Canada home.

Map of Eastern Canada and USA, highlighting Atlantic CanadaThe province of Quebec, the Atlantic Ocean and the New England states border Atlantic Canada. Our major cities include:

Nova Scotia 
(provincial population of 923,598)

  • Halifax
  • Sydney

New Brunswick 
(provincial population of 747,101)

  • Saint John
  • Moncton
  • Fredericton

Newfoundland and Labrador
(provincial population of 519,716)

  • St. John’s
  • Corner Brook

Prince Edward Island 
(provincial population of 142,907)

  • Charlottetown

We’re Well Connected

Atlantic Canada is well connected to major North American markets by road, sea, air and rail. In fact, Atlantic Canada is within one day’s driving distance of more than one-third of the entire population of North America. Our five international airports offer dozens of daily flights to major destinations and we have year-round deep-water ports two days closer to Europe than any other port on the eastern seaboard.

It’s a great place to live

People like living and working here. They like the four-season activities, the natural beauty, the welcoming smiles, the pace, the peace and security.

Atlantic Canada is a profitable place to do business!

Contact the ACOA office nearest you to find out more, or send an e-mail to our export development team.