Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Innovation at Work

Conversation with John Rowe, President - Island Abbey Foods (2 minutes, 9 seconds)

Click here for a full transcript 
A high definition version of this video is available on YouTube

To learn more about Island Abbey Foods, read: A honey of an idea!


 

Transcript: Island Abbey Foods

Innovation and Research and Development is the most important challenge facing Atlantic Canadians today.  We are literally competing with the best and brightest minds around the world and innovation, true innovation, is the only means for us to maintain, to build a competitive advantage.

My name is John Rowe and I’m the President of Island Abbey Foods.

I had a Eureka moment many years ago when I was living on the West Coast. I had a honey accident and quite literally a jar, a glass jar of honey, shattered in my backpack while I was camping and I started researching... no one had figured out how to put honey in a pure form into a solid state.

We are the first to discover how to dehydrate honey in a pure form. We are a small company building a new business.

ACOA funding has helped us immensely advance our innovation agenda.  Island Abby Foods has received assistance during our research and development phase as well as after our company’s launch of our unique honey products.

It has allowed us to diversify our product lines and, in the food sector, it is extremely expensive to launch new products, especially into retail.  The role that the government has to play in building an innovative economy in Atlantic Canada is to continue to support three key areas:

- providing access to capital, whether it is seed capital or research and development funding; 
- once the products are ready, supporting the marketing of those to ensure that they do get out there to market;
- and most importantly, in my mind, encouraging entrepreneurship from a very early age. 

We have to be innovative because competition is coming to us from all corners of the globe today.  As we’ve begun to market internationally, it has opened up many new doors, many new markets. Very exciting opportunities for us as we grow.

Additional videos of innovative Atlantic companies are available on the Innovation at Work page

Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Innovation à l'œuvre

Conversation avec John Rowe, président - Island Abbey Foods (version anglaise - 2 minutes, 9 secondes)

Cliquez ici pour lire le texte intégral
Une version haute définition de ce vidéo est accessible sur YouTube

Pour en savoir davantage sur Island Abbey Foods, lisez: Une sucrée de bonne idée!

 

 

Texte intégral : Island Abbey Foods

L’innovation et la recherche-développement représentent le plus grand défi que les gens de la région de l’Atlantique doivent relever. C’est un fait, nous sommes en concurrence avec les éléments les plus brillants du monde entier, et l’innovation, la vraie, est le seul moyen d’avoir et de maintenir un avantage concurrentiel.

Je m’appelle John Rowe et je suis le président d’Island Abbey Foods.

J’ai eu une illumination il y a de nombreuses années alors que j’habitais sur la côte Ouest. J’étais en camping, et un pot de miel en verre s’est brisé dans mon sac à dos. C’est à ce moment que j’ai entrepris mes recherches... personne n’avait encore trouvé comment solidifier du miel à l’état pur.

Nous sommes les premiers à avoir réussi à déshydrater le miel à l’état pur. Nous sommes une petite entreprise qui brasse de nouvelles affaires.

Les fonds de l’APECA nous ont énormément aidés à innover. Island Abbey Foods a reçu de l’aide à l’étape de la recherche-développement et après le lancement de nos produits à base de miel uniques en leur genre.

Ça nous a permis de diversifier nos gammes de produits et, dans le secteur de l’alimentation, il est extrêmement coûteux de lancer de nouveaux produits, surtout sur le marché du détail. Pour établir une économie novatrice au Canada atlantique, le gouvernement doit continuer d’intervenir sur trois plans :

- l’accès aux capitaux, qu’il s’agisse de capitaux de démarrage ou de fonds de recherche-développement;
- la mise en marché des produits, pour veiller à ce qu’ils atteignent le marché;
- le développement de l’esprit d’entreprise à un très jeune âge, ce qui est à mon avis le plus important.

Nous devons innover, car nous sommes en concurrence avec le monde entier. Nos premiers pas sur le marché international nous ont ouvert de nombreuses portes, de nombreux nouveaux marchés. Ces possibilités sont très encourageantes pour nos projets d’expansion.

D'autres vidéos des entreprises innovateurs de l'Atlantique sont disponibles sur la page Innovation à l'Oeuvre