Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Cream of the crop

churning milk into butter

Prior to the 1950s, many communities had their own creameries that churned their local farmer’s milk into butter. But once refrigeration became widely available, it brought an explosion of food choice for consumers and a sea of change in the way those foods were produced and distributed.

Prince Edward Island’s Amalgamated Dairies Limited (ADL) is one company that grew along with technology to become a model of a successful agriculture cooperative.

Established in 1953, ADL was formed by consolidating seven dairy co-operatives in order to pool resources and buy the necessary equipment to meet industry needs. Since then, ADL has grown to include 97 percent of the approximately 185 island dairy producers. Their 275 employees ship milk, cheese, butter and evaporated milk products to customers across Canada, the United States, Asia and the Caribbean.

“Per capita, PEI is one of the richest dairy regions in North America, similar to Quebec and Wisconsin in the U.S.,” says Chad Mann, ADL’s Business Development Manager. “We’re a small place, but the cooler climate and lush farmland—provide a great base for natural feed—which is very attractive for the dairy industry.”

ADL’s extensive lines of cheese include asiago, parmesan, havarti, feta and gouda. But one of their largest exports is canned milk products, including bulk containers of sweetened condensed milk bound for restaurants and other industrial uses in the U.S.

“Only a handful of processors in North America make it, so it’s almost like a specialty product,” he says.

testing for quality

The co-operative model helps ADL dairy producers take advantage of market opportunities and get a share of the profits that derive from selling finished goods. It also allows the producers a stable market for their milk supply and gives them a say in the business and markets serviced.

“The producers here are thinking not only what’s best for their farm, but they’re thinking what’s best for their processor and growing the industry in PEI as a whole.”

When it comes to competing in the marketplace against larger regions, ADL believes that ACOA assistance levels has been key.

“Over the years, we’ve been able to adopt new technologies that help us stay competitive and efficient,” says Chad. “The assistance that ACOA has provided has helped push some projects along faster or made them more economically viable than they would have been otherwise.”

Going forward, affordability will not be the only concern for food consumers.

“They want safe, healthy and sustainable options, a word that is going to be more important as we head into the future. We’re in an industry that can definitely provide that.”

Healthy food products, along with a balanced and fair approach that helps all parts of their industry work effectively—now that’s sustainability.

Read: "More space for Amalgamated Dairies Limited" (The Guardian - January 31, 2016)

Published December 2, 2014

Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

La crème de la crème

barattage lait en beurre

Avant les années 1950, de nombreuses collectivités avaient leur propre crémerie où elles barattaient le lait de leurs fermiers locaux pour en faire du beurre. Mais lorsque la réfrigération s’est répandue, cela a entraîné une multiplication des aliments pour les consommateurs et une vague de changements dans la manière de produire et de distribuer ces aliments.

Amalgamated Dairies Limited (ADL) de l’Île‑du‑Prince‑Édouard est une entreprise qui a grandi avec la technologie pour devenir un modèle de coopérative agricole fructueuse.

Fondée en 1953, ADL résulte de la consolidation de sept coopératives laitières visant à mettre en commun les ressources et à acheter les équipements nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins de l’industrie. Depuis, ADL s’est élargie pour englober 97 p. 100 des quelque 185 producteurs laitiers insulaires. Ses 275 employés expédient du lait, du fromage, du beurre et du lait évaporé à ses clients au Canada, aux États‑Unis, en Asie et dans les Caraïbes.

« Par habitant, l’Î.‑P.‑É. est l’une des régions laitières les plus riches d’Amérique du Nord, à l’instar du Québec et du Wisconsin aux États‑Unis, d’affirmer Chad Mann, gestionnaire du développement commercial d’ADL. L’Île est une petite province, mais son climat frais et ses terres fertiles procurent une solide assise pour les aliments naturels destinés aux animaux, ce qui est très attrayant pour l’industrie laitière. »

La vaste gamme de fromages d’ADL comprend asiago, parmesan, havarti, féta et gouda. Mais l’une de ses principales exportations est le lait en conserve, notamment les contenants en vrac de lait condensé sucré pour les restaurants et d’autres usages industriels aux É.‑U.

« Une poignée de transformateurs nord‑américains font de même, donc c’est pratiquement un produit spécialisé », affirme‑t‑il.

tests de qualité

Le modèle coopératif aide les producteurs laitiers d’ADL à profiter des occasions du marché et à obtenir une partie des profits découlant de la vente de produits finis. Il assure aussi aux producteurs un marché stable pour leur approvisionnement en lait et leur accorde une voix au sein de l’industrie et des marchés desservis.

« Les producteurs d’ici pensent non seulement à ce qui est idéal pour leur ferme, mais aussi pour leur transformateur et pour la croissance de l’ensemble de l’industrie à l’Île. »

Pour ce qui est de livrer concurrence à de grandes régions sur le marché, ADL estime que l’aide de l’APECA a été cruciale.

« Au fil des ans, nous avons adopté de nouvelles technologies qui nous aident à demeurer concurrentiels et efficaces, souligne Chad. L’aide de l’APECA nous a permis de faire progresser certains projets plus rapidement ou de les rendre plus viables économiquement que si nous n’avions rien reçu. »

Dans l’avenir, l’abordabilité ne sera pas la seule préoccupation des consommateurs.

« Ils veulent des options sûres, saines et durables; d’ailleurs, ce mot sera de plus en plus important. Et nous travaillons dans une industrie qui peut certainement garantir la durabilité. »

Des produits alimentaires sains et une approche équitable et équilibrée qui aide tous les joueurs de l’industrie à être efficaces, c’est ça la durabilité.

Lisez : « More space for Amalgamated Dairies Limited » (The Guardian - le 31 janvier 2016, en anglais seulement)

Publié le 2 décembre 2014