Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Symbol of the Government of Canada

An appetite for flatbread

A man holding bagels.

In a small market like the Atlantic Canada, businesses require aggressive strategies to become successful exporters.

Since 1989, constant innovation has helped one Moncton, New Brunswick company bake up a strategy for success.

Fancy Pokket Corporation is a ‘Grade A’ BRC Certified facility which offers a line of kosher and halal-certified bakery products, found in major retail stores, restaurant chains and food service distributors throughout Canada.

The company has grown from a 1,000 square foot bakery with three employees in 1989 to a state-of-the-art, 45,000 square foot facility today, which produces an ever-increasing menu of Lebanese pita breads, bagels, tortillas, flatbread, pizza crust and Lavash - a soft, thin type of flatbread.

Mike Timani, president and CEO, immigrated to Ontario from Lebanon in 1976, and moved to New Brunswick a few years later.

Why Moncton?

“I wanted to start my own business and Moncton, the hub of the Maritimes, seemed like a great fit,” says Mike.

While the company has experienced several periods of growth over the years, diversifying into new and interesting food products remains an essential business practice.

Fancy Pokket Corporation will be opening a 58,000 square foot gluten-free facility in Lancaster, South Carolina, which will be in operation in May 2015.

“The main reason for coming to the decision to open a facility in the USA was to allow us to gain entry in the American market with our Canadian product line. We expect that with these export revenues, our sales will double in the next three years.”

The product line manufactured in South Carolina will include traditional sliced bread, hot dog and hamburger buns, brownies, cookies, rolls, banana bread, lemon/poppy seed loaves and baguettes, among other delicious baked goods. Products manufactured at the US facility will be transported to Moncton for Atlantic Canadians to enjoy.

“Nutritious, gluten-free alternatives to wheat-based goods are in high demand these days,” Mike explains. “This food-conscious market segment is large and I think it will continue to grow in the future.”

ACOA has contributed to Fancy Pokket’s steady growth since the company’s inception.

“Having an organization such as ACOA providing assistance makes a huge difference. First of all, it helps to make banks more comfortable because ACOA is on hand, but it also allows me to grow my business and generate more employment in our area.”

Through the highs and lows of business, one thing is certain: careful investment in innovation with an eye on the future is a well-timed recipe for growth.

Published March 2, 2015

Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Prendre goût au pain plat

Un homme qui porte des bagels

Dans un petit marché comme le Canada atlantique, pour réussir comme exportateur, il faut des stratégies dynamiques.

Depuis 1989, l’innovation ne cesse d’aider une entreprise de Moncton, au Nouveau‑Brunswick, à se concocter une stratégie gagnante.

Fancy Pokket Corporation est une usine de catégorie A certifiée BRC offrant une gamme de produits de boulangerie‑pâtisserie kascher et halal qu’on retrouve chez les grands détaillants, les chaînes de restaurants et les distributeurs de services alimentaires partout au Canada.

L’entreprise est passée d’une boulangerie de 1 000 pieds carrés comptant trois employés en 1989 à une installation de pointe de 45 000 pieds carrés qui produit aujourd’hui une gamme toujours croissante de pains pita libanais, de bagels, de tortillas, de pains plats, de croûtes à pizza et de lavash, un pain plat fin et moelleux.

Le PDG de Fancy Pokket, Mike Timani, a immigré en Ontario en provenance du Liban en 1976, et il a déménagé au Nouveau‑Brunswick quelques années plus tard.

Pourquoi Moncton?

« Je voulais démarrer ma propre entreprise, et Moncton, le carrefour des Maritimes, m’apparaissait comme l’endroit idéal », dit‑il.

L’entreprise a certes connu plusieurs périodes de croissance au fil des ans, mais le fait de se diversifier grâce à de nouveaux aliments intéressants demeure une pratique entrepreneuriale cruciale.

Fancy Pokket Corporation ouvrira une usine sans gluten de 58 000 pieds carrés à Lancaster, en Caroline du Sud, qui sera en exploitation dès mai 2015.

« La raison clé qui a motivé notre décision d’ouvrir une usine aux États‑Unis a été de percer le marché américain avec notre gamme de produits canadiens. Grâce à ces revenus d’exportation, nous prévoyons que nos ventes doubleront d’ici trois ans. »

Les produits fabriqués en Caroline du Sud seront les suivants : pains tranchés conventionnels, pains à hot dog et à hamburger, brownies, biscuits, petits pains, pains aux bananes, pains au citron/graines de pavot et baguettes, et bien d’autres délices. Ils seront expédiés à Moncton pour que les gens de l’Atlantique puissent en profiter.

« Les substituts nutritifs sans gluten des produits de blé sont très en demande actuellement, explique Mike. Ce segment de marché formé de consommateurs soucieux de leur alimentation est vaste, et j’estime qu’il continuera de croître dans l’avenir. »

L’APECA a contribué à la croissance soutenue de Fancy Pokket depuis sa création.

« Le fait d’avoir un organisme de financement comme l’APECA fait toute la différence. D’abord, les banques se sentent en confiance car l’APECA est disponible. Ensuite, cela me permet d’agrandir mon entreprise et de créer davantage d’emplois dans notre région. »

Malgré les fluctuations, une chose est sûre : les investissements en innovation judicieux et tournés vers l’avenir constituent la recette de la croissance.

Publié le 2 mars 2015